The North West club held their annual herds competition in glorious sunshine during the last week of august. Judging the cattle were Neil and Joy Vance from the Winnington herd which is based in Minsterley near Shrewsbury on the English Welsh border. They were very impressed with the standard of cattle and got to see some new bloodlines.

The results were announced at a dinner held on the last night of the competition in the Gateway hotel Swinford. Club chairman Martin Regan thanked all who took part.  He paid tribute to the judges for their professionalism and thanked Neil and Joy for judging the competition. Martin had spoken to many of the entrants and they all complimented the judges on their friendly manner and Limousin knowledge.

The large herds competition was won by the Clonbonny herd of Darren Hartnett based in Athlone.  The Carrowneden herd of Liam Lyons based in Aughamore were second and Michael McKeon’s Ballyvary based Currane herd in third place.

The medium herds was won by the Milan herd of Donie and Maura McKeon based in Enniscrone with Declan Waldron from Aughamore second with his Glore herd. In third place was Michael Gunn, Elphin for his Ovaun herd.

The small herds section was won by Peter Geraghty with the Marless herd based in Moylough. David Cogan Clooncara herd from Kilmovee and Michael Oliver’s Swinford based Lisnacrann herd shared second place with the Big Red herd of Donal Byrne in third place.

The novice prize for new entrants was won by Declan Waldron for his Glore herd.

Darren Hartnetts Clonbonny herd was judged the best overall herd retaining his title from last year.

The section awards were won by

Best 2020 female           

Winner                 Trueman Roxy a daughter of Telfers Munster owned by Donal Byrne

Runner up           Ballinwooley Ruth an Ionesco daughter owned by Padraig Fallon

Best 2020 Bull                  

Winner                 Currane Ronnie a Godolphin son owned by Michael McKeon

Runner-up          Clooncara Raider a Craikatoge Jack son owned by David Cogan

Best Cow            

Winner                 Ampertaine Jocelyn an Elgin Daughter owned by Darren Hartnett

Runner-up          Ballyline Imoto a Cerberus Daughter owned by Michael Oliver and

Milan Jamey-lee a Foreman Daughter owned by Donie McKeon

Best Bull born prior to 1/1/2020

Winner                 Millington Leslie owned by Donie McKeon

Best group of calves

Winner                 Clonbonny herd of Darren Hartnett

Runner-up          Milan Herd of Donie McKeon

Best group of maiden heifers    

Winner                 Carrowneden herd of Liam Lyons

Runner up           Ballinwooley herd of Padraig Fallon

Best group of in-calf heifers      

Winner                 Currane herd of Michael McKeon

Runner up           Ovaun Herd of Michael Gunn

Best Cow family

Winner                 Ampertaine Jocelyn family owned by Darren Hartnett

Best progeny of one sire

Winner                 Peter Geraghty with On-Dit Progeny

Runner-up          Michael Gunn with Cameos progeny

Share This Story, Choose Your Platform!