lim logo1

Irish Limousin Cattle Society, Kilglass, Mitchelstown, Co. Cork

T:+353 (0)25 85036 F:+353 (0)25 85060 Twitter: @irishlimousin



About Limousin

Herd Health




Sire Catalogue

Live Herdbook






Ulster Bank Teemore All Ireland  Limousin Heifer & Bull Derby

Castlewellan Show Co Down was the venue for the 5th All Ireland Limousin Bull & Heifer Derby on Saturday last 16th July 2011.

Amidst sunny spells and heavy showers this prestigious event attracted a large crowd  to witness the final consisting of animals that had qualified from Roundfort, Charleville, Athlone & Clonmel shows in the South and Balmoral, Ballymena, Lurgan, Armagh & Omagh in the North.

The Derby was first held in 2007 at Castlewellan, 2008  Virginia, 2009 Clogher Valley and 2010 in Cappamore.

A factor that has been critical to the success of this competition from the beginning has been the generous sponsorship of both The Ulster Bank for the Heifer Derby  and Teemore Engineering for the Bull Derby.

Ulster Bank’s continued interest and support in farming has been long known to everyone and they are pivotal in undertaking support and financial assistance towards shows and events like the Derby. Teemore Engineering was established in 1974 and since then has built up quite a reputation as the leading manufacturer and supplier of livestock housing equipment.

Likewise credit must also go to DAFF and DARD regarding the movement of the cattle to the show and during the show.

The All Ireland is a cross border initiative between the Irish Limousin Cattle Society and the Northern Ireland Limousin Club. This competition is specifically for young bulls exhibitor bred and born on or after 1st January 2010 and for heifers exhibitor bred and born on or after 1st June 2009.

Points are allocated for the first 6 placings in each category with a Challenge Shield being presented to the team with the highest number of points.

The judge for this year’s final was Mr Brian Jones of the Bailea Limousin herd Senny, Sennnybridge, Brecon, Powys, Wales.

Taking 1st place in the All Ireland Heifer section was Erne Ezabel from well known show exhibitor Mr Raymond Crawford, Rathkeeland, Maguiresbridge. Ezabel by the Crawfords high profile sire Sauvignon and the Saphir sired dam Hafodlas Beren,  caught the judges eye with her depth and volume.

cw11lim derby 2848

Erne Ezabel

Coming in 2nd place was Brookland Emma from Messrs John & Tom Hickey, Knockbrittas, Kilcomman, Thurles Co Tipperary. By the very influential sire Wilodge Vantastic and the Ferry sired dam Brookland Beauty,  Emma displayed power and size and indeed the judge had deliberated for some time before placing her second

cw11lim derby 2745

Brookland Emma

3rd place went to the youngest heifer in the final Elite Forever Free ET from Mr Edward Tynan, Beechill Farm, Doon, Mountrath, Co Laois. Once again by the popular sire Wilodge Vantastic and the dam Ardlea Coillte who herself had been shown successfully, this heifer had many admirers and no doubt will feature in the future.

cw11lim derby 2657

Keith Murphy & Ann Caldwell Ulster Bank ( Sponsors) with Elite Forever Free ET

4th place went to Ardlea Enebelle from Mr Dan Tynan , Beechill Farm, Doon, Mountrath, Co Laois. Sired by Neuf from  the French Sersia AI company and the Lino sired dam Ardlea Anable.

All Ireland Derby Line Up

  • 1 Erne Ezabel         R Crawford Rathkeeland Maguiresbridge, Co Fermanagh
  • 2 Brookland Emma    J & T Hickey  Knockbrittas, Kilcommon, Thurles, Co Tipperray
  • 3 Elite Forever Free Et    E Tynan, Beechill Farm,Doon Mountath, Co Laois
  • 4 Ardlea Ennebelle   D Tynan, Beechill Farm, Doon, Mountrath, Co Laois
  • 5 FedneyhouseElizabeth  TJ Adams, Fedney Hose, 50 Shot Lane, Banbridge
  • 6 Derriaghy Fancypants  DG Green & Sons  17A Derriaghy Road, Lisburn
  • 7 Elite Edel ET  E Tynan, Beechill Farm, Doon, Mountrath, Co Laois
  • 8 Melbreak Fairylight  J & A Callion 6 Skreen Road, Shaneragh, Dromore
  • 9 Ballinascraw Fantasy J & S Lynch Ballinascraw, Ballinalee, CoLongford
  • 10 Oakfarm Edan  Mr & Mrs D & J Bell, Derrygortinea Rock, Dungannon

In the All Ireland Bull Derby 1st place was awarded to Millgate Fame from Mr Michael Loughran 1 Mill Road, Dungate, Dunamore, Cookstown. By the French sire Condor and Kilcurry Cailin who herself is by Rocky, Millgate Fame displayed tremendous muscling and style which caught the eye of the judge.

cw11lim derby 2788

Millgate Fame

Mr Brian McElroy 35 Enagh Road, Dromara, Dromore saw his quality entry Bridgeford Floyd taking taking 2nd place. Sired by Haltcliffe Underwriter Floyd is by Bridgeford Saskia  the ILC Female Champion  sired herself by Greensons Gigolo.

cw11lim derby 7533

Bridgeford Floyd

3rd place went to Keadyview Francis from Mr Barney O Kane 17 Liscall Road, Garvagh, Coleraine. Bred by the high profile UK sire Sympa and Carmorn Babe Francis displayed style and power.

cw11lim derby 2576

Keadyview Francis

4th place was taken by Baltray F392 from Mr PJ & Hilda McDonnell, Station Road, Gormanstown, Co Meath. F392 is by the Picador sired Elite Bimanda French dam Ubolin

  • All Ireland Derby Bull Line Up
  • 1 Millgate Fame  M Lougran 1 Mill Road, Dungate, Dunamore, Cookstown
  • 2 Bridgeford Floyd B McElroy, 35 Enagh Road, Dromara, Dromore
  • 3 Keadyview Francis b O Kane & Sons, 17 Liscall Road, Garvagh, Coleraine
  • 4 Baltray F392 PJ & Hilda McDonnell, Station Road, Gormanstown, Co Meath
  • 5 Erne Ferdo  R Crawford, Rathkeeland, Maguiresbridge, Co Fermanagh
  • 6 ChinauleyFilmstart  A Finney, 190 Castlewellan Road, Banbridge
  • 7 Millgate Ferry  M Loughran 1 Mill Road, Dungate, Dunamore, Cookstown
  • 8 Rhyne Fantastic  M Hagan, Rhine, Killoe, Co Longford
  • 9 Ballinascraw Foreman, J & S Lynch, Ballinascraw, Ballinalee, Co Longford
  • 10 Birchpark Federico  O Flannery, Clounty, Mountshannon, Co Clare
  • 11 Barryroe Fionn 2  J Wycherley, Lislevane, Bandon Co Cork

After the two finals had been decided the points were added and the Northern Ireland Club were declared the winners of the Challenge Shield again

cw11lim derby 2486

Millgate Fame Bull Derby winner with Brian Jones ( Judge) Michael Loughran, John O Hara ISA, Tommy Collins NISA, Joan Gilliland ( Chairperson NILC) Charlie Lougran William Lennox Teemor Engineering ( Sponsors ) Jack Loughran, John McInerney ( President ILCS )

cw11lim derby 2018

Judge Brian Jones inspecting Elite Forever Free exhibited by Keith Murphy

cw11lim derby 2258

Erne Ezabel with John O Hara ISA Stephen Crawford, Brian Jones, Paul Sykes ILCS, David Cowan Ulster Bank, Herbie Crawford, Ann Caldwell Ulster Bank Joan Gilliland NILC

cw11lim derby 2286

Bobby Jones exhibiting Baltray F392 for PJ & Hilda McDonnell

cw11lim derby 2808

Stephen & Herbie Crawford receiving winning cup from Joan Gilliland Chairperson Northern Ireland Limousin Club

cw11lim derby 2435

PJ McDonnell & Bobby Jones with Baltray F392

cw11lim derby 2718

Loughran Family with Millgate Fame


Back to top >>>


shows lim09plou2426_small



© Irish Limousin Cattle Society Limited

Tel: 353 (0)25-85036

Fax: 353 (0)25-85060


For further reports, articles and information go to the relevant page or type in topic in the search bar below


Website by Show Business